Depending on user security setup, rooms and/or resources may be requested by users that do not have permission to officially reserve them. Instead, the act of selecting a room or resource for an activity generates a request for the room or resource that is sent to one or more users responsible for approving or declining the request. These request messages are sent automatically to any user that is a member of the Approver Group created for the room or resource in question. When action is taken (the request is either approved or declined, or the approver requires more information) messages are automatically generated confirming the new state. Approvers may add comments to declined requests and may ask for additional details before taking action.